Treasures in the Royal Library

Back | Main

Michael Praetorius: Musarum Sioniarum motectae et psalmi latini. 1607 & Musae Sioniae. 1605-1607. 8 vols.
Music and Theatre Department, mu 6602.2132

Click for enlarged image Click for enlarged image Click for enlarged image
Front cover Dedication to Christian IV Title page of the first collection

Click for enlarged image Click for enlarged image
Title page of the second part
of the second collection
In dulci jubilo (second collection)

In the beginning of the 17th century Michael Praetorius (1571-1621), one of Germany’s best known composers, presented King Christian IV ((b. 1577) 1588-1648) with two of his collections of motets. One, Musarum Sioniarum motectae et psalmi latini, contains a number of Latin motets, the other, Musae Sioniae, a series of motets in German based on Protestant hymns.
The two collections have been bound together as books of vocal parts which means that all cantus parts (i.e. soprano parts) are in one volume, all alto parts in another etc., eight volumes in all. They are bound in exquisite white vellum, and the cantus part contains a handwritten dedication to the King. He was renowned as a patron of music throughout Europe, and Praetorius was employed in Wolfenbüttel, the Duke of which was married to the sister of Christian IV, Elisabeth.

20.5 x 16.3 cm.

See the Music and Theatre Department’s digital facsimiles of the two collections of motets here.
For more information see also the website of the same department Michael Praetorius’s present to Christian IV (only in Danish).

Back | Main

© Det Kongelige Bibliotek 2003